Chocolate Cake Pops

I have had quite a few requests on how I make my cake pops so I thought I would share my version

This is a basic version

I use Dana’s chocolate cake recipe mixed with the divine chocolate butter cream from Sophie Gray’s ENJOY! cook book (well worth the purchase)  This recipe makes a perfect batch of about 70-80 cake pops.

I love making cake pops as you can do it in stages over a period of time and the cake balls (before dipped) can be frozen for up to a month in a airtight container

Bake the cake or any cake you desire and crumble the cake once cool into small pieces as pictured

Make up the butter cream

Mix the cake crumbles and butter cream together, into a clump as pictured below and refrigerate (you can leave it in the fridge in a airtight container for a couple of days)  Firming up the mixture makes it easier to roll

Roll the mixture into balls of your desired size, onto a baking sheet and freeze

Once you are ready to dip in the chocolate, melt the chocolate in a double boiler or the microwave.  It doesn’t need long in the microwave and looks like soft melts

Mix the chocolate until lump free

Remove the cake balls from the freezer.

I find it easier to take out about 20 at a time out of the freezer.

When you are ready to dip, stick a lollipop stick into a cake ball then dip into the chocolate and cover the whole cake ball

You do need to work fast, as the chocolate sets quite fast

Swirl the lollipop stick to remove the excess chocolate

Place back onto a baking sheet to set, and refrigerate

Yum!  I love the crack of the chocolate and soft texture of the cake ball when you bite into it

Sorry my photos are so terrible, it was rather late at night and I was quite tired

Standard

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake Pops

  1. Thanks Julie – Lots of good tips in there. Will definately make them again some time. One thing I discovered when making my reindeer ones, was if you are poking any decorations into the cake pop – make sure you do it quickly before the chocolate sets, because the chocolate sets hard and will crack if you try to put it in later. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

